Celebrating Ottawa’s 2017 IABC Canada Silver Leaf Award Winners

Four companies from the Ottawa communications community were recognized with a Silver Leaf Award of Excellence from IABC Canada for their outstanding work in communication management and skills.

The esteemed Silver Leaf Awards recognize a strategic approach to communications programs conducted by professional communicators in more than forty categories, including brand communications, internal communications, writing, and issues management. Evaluation is based on IABC’s global seven-point scale of excellence for strategic planning and execution.

“Ottawa is home to a talented community of communication professionals working to business results through strategic communications,” said Kaleigh Maclaren, President of IABC Ottawa. “We are proud to celebrate the award-winning work from Ottawa communicators and to have them recognized on the national stage for demonstrating the highest standards of communications excellence.”

Of the 158 entries submitted in 2017, 66 entrants were honoured with a Silver Leaf Award – 60 received an Award of Excellence and 6 an Award of Merit.


The 2017 Silver Leaf Award of Excellence winners from IABC Ottawa community are:

Stéphanie Magnan, Defence Construction Canada

Award Category: Digital Communication Channels


Rosella Chibambo, Brenna Baggs, Jeanne Thibault, Janis Hass, Helen Murphy, Jamie McLennan, and Ryan Thompson, Universities Canada

Award Category: Digital Communication Vehicles

Submission: Converge 2017 Wrap-up e-newsletter


Jessica Kovar, Banfield Agency

Award Category: Social Media Programs

Submission: Royal Canadian Legion 2016 Poppy Campaign


Thornley Fallis Communications and Commissionaires

Award Category: Media Relations

Submission: Commissionaires Remembrance Day 2016 Campaign


The complete list of winners from across Canada is available on the IABC Canada website.

The Silver Leaf Award program is sponsored by: